Maryna holds the BA, LLB, LLM degrees and is a Director at the Cape Town branch of STBB. She is an admitted Attorney, Notary Public, Conveyancer and Insolvency Practitioner with many years of experience in the fields of property law, conveyancing and the laws relating to corporate compliance (especially in respect of the FICA and POPIA laws). Up until 2018 she was also head of the firm’s national marketing portfolio. She is a seasoned public speaker and presenter, both in person and online. She prepares text for the majority of STBB’s internal and external publications and is editor and co-writer for two pivotal publications in the South African real estate industry – the ABC of Conveyancing (JUTA) and Delport’s South African Property Law and Practice (JUTA).


Yesterday, 8 February 2021, Labour Minister, Thulas Nxesi, gazetted the new minimum wage for South African workers. With effect from 1 March 2021, the national minimum wage will be R21.69 for each ordinary hour.

The national minimum wage, set by the National Minimum Wage Act, is the amount payable for the ordinary hours of work and does not include payment of allowances (such as transport, tools, food or accommodation), payments in kind (board or lodging), tips, bonuses and gifts. The national minimum wage was for the first time implemented on 1 January 2019.

The gazette also provides exceptions for a number of worker groups, including domestic workers who are generally entitled to a minimum wage of R19.09 per ordinary hour.

Although the national minimum wage commission ideally sought to make this determination applicable to all employees across the country and irrespective of sector, lower minimums for certain sectors, such as domestic workers, have been tabled, to avoid excessive disruption. The commission aims to gradually achieve a single minimum wage rate across all sectors.

Contact us at should you require more information.

For the best legal advice and personalised service, let's talk
Subscribe to our montly newsletters, Subscribe